What Is This Simple Life And Where Do I Find It?

Posted: March 27, 2012 in Generally Speaking, Projects, The Simple Life?

“Look within.” whispered the voice in my head. Do you have any idea how much clutter I have to sift through in order to do that?!

I am determined to find the magic bean that will make this all possible. In the mean time I read a lot of blogs about living frugally, making your own stuff, eating organically or growing your own food, etc… I’m totally down with all of that. It’s hard to get started though! Mostly because I have so many things I want to do that I have a hard time figuring out where to start.

I was however totally inspired today by Nancy Today who said that she always has a bunch of projects on the go and she just does a little bit at a time of each thing, she putters. I would describe her as a DIY-er video blogger I guess? She’s awesome. She’s got so many videos! Soap, cooking, whatever. She does it all. It’s from her I heard the phrase “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.” So far as I can tell it’s origin goes back to women during the Great Depression (1930’s). Wherever it came from, I love it. I’m printing it on something for sure.

So, I’m reading, deciding, thinking, making lists, remaking lists, listening to 1984 on audio because if I read it I won’t get anything else done. The fact that this is okay is one of the things I’ve decided. Really I started thinking about all of this stuff in the summer of 2010 when there was a flood at work. Lots has changed since then, but I have yet to really work on this “simple life”. From all descriptions, it doesn’t sound all that simple at all. But I’ve decided (yet again) that I’m going to babble about it as I go.

Check  out Nancy Today!

Leave a Reply

