Designer Dilemma

Posted: February 1, 2012 in Design
Tags: ,

I`m having a bit of a dilemma. I don`t think I`m the greatest designer of all time by any stretch of the imagination. But I do know that I can look at something that`s been designed perhaps in a hurry (or by someone who may think quality should be related directly to price) and quickly come up with a few solutions; possibly making the difference between keeping someone interested in what the page has to say or searching for the fastest way off the page.

It`s not like I signed any sort of designer`s oath or anything so spectacular (*rolling my eyes at myself*) but I kind of feel responsible for showing people that it can be SO much better. Like a moral imperative to tell a complete stranger that their website or business card could use some help. How do you do that without sounding like a complete jerk?! What if these people were up until the wee hours working on these things themselves just to save a few dollars? Or worse, hired someone and paid them a fortune for something they could have done themselves in the wee hours.

I`d like to say it doesn`t keep me awake at night but occasionally it does. I quit drinking coffee in the evening so I`m sure that`s it…

I`ve put some shameless marketing out on my facebook page:

Are you happy with your website? Let me make some free suggestions and lets see where it takes us!

Ridiculous. Shameless.

Leave a Reply

