Shwartzies Potatoes aka Homework Assignment!

Posted: December 12, 2011 in Food

I just joined the Eclectic 6 Forums, and already I have homework! Actually a great idea to get me going. Thanks for the Monday Mojo!!!

I’m off to dig up my favorite holiday recipe. I don’t know where this came from because I think it’s in every small town church or community cookbook I’ve ever seen. My Mom cooked it for Christmas breakfast all the time. Or at least that’s how I remember it! This is my version – I recommend playing with it however you like. I tend to double it for the big Thanksgiving and Boxing Day Ho-downs at the Hall…Wow. I’d like to blame the Buckley’s for that but I don’t think it’s that kind of cold medicine… Back to the homework:

Shwartzies Potatoes

Bag of thawed hashbrowns

2 cans of condensed mushroom soup

1 medium tub of sour cream (put the soup in first and add the sour cream until it looks mushy enough – you don’t want it to be TOO gooey)

1 cup of cheddar (I like to mix in some mozza and some parm for kicks)

1/2 chopped white /yellow onion

garlic – raw chopped or dry, depends how you’re feeling really…

Bread crumbs & cheeze mix for the top (mostly parm)

Mix it all up in a huge bowl, throw it in a casserole dish and cover it evenly with the breadcrumbs and parm. Put it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350, covered with foil. I didn’t do this last time and it browned the top way too fast. Check if the center is hot. It probably won’t be. Put it in for 15 more minutes and check it again. If it’s hot but not browned on top take off the foil and put it in again for a few minutes. If this works, repeat it again and again… You won’t have a choice, people love it. Every time you go to a pot luck they will ask for it. If it DOESN’T work, change the heat or time. You never know. I think they mean it when they say oven temperatures and times vary depending on where you are…Hmmm….

I don’t have a current picture of shwartzies…

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    My mom does a version of this with leftover ham…

    Thanks for participating!!

  2. That sounds a lot like the hashbrown casserole from Cracker Barrel, which is yummy. I’ll have to give this a try.

Leave a Reply

